Bale moving to left back?

Discussion in 'Team Formation' started by StPaulSpur, Jan 14, 2011.

1. StPaulSpur Well-Known Member

StPaulSpur
    Ratings:
    +1,690 / 0 / -0
    I'm still a relative novice when it comes to football strategy, so can someone explain to me why Harry wants to move Bale back to the left back position eventually? He's such a force from the left wing, why pull him back? Will he still be able to get up front for his crosses? I've heard people say we could use him the way Chelsea uses Ashley Cole, but it seems like he has a bigger impact on games at left wing than Cole does for Chelsea at LB. Anyone willing to explain this to me? I'm trying to understand the rationale and am just not seeing it.
  2. contrast Welcome back Contrast!

contrast
    Ratings:
    +2,787 / 6 / -0
    Last time I heard Harry say that was back at the very start of the season, I'm sure 11 goals in all competitions later, even Harry is starting to think he's more suited to attacking.
  3. MonicaHotspur New Member

MonicaHotspur
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    I hope he doesn't go back to left back. Think of all the game winning goals and assists he did this season.
  4. Roscono3 champions league vip Moderator

Roscono3
    Ratings:
    +5,965 / 13 / -0
    Theres a simple answer to this imo.....If and when Bale does go back to left back in the future it will only be a option. Bale can play both so why not use him there when the time is right.

He's been playing left wing nearly every game so if we were to move him back it would keep other teams guessing and not be so obvious. Playing him from a deeper role would be harder for other teams to mark him as he can make his runs from a deeper position.

And if it doesn't work we can always move him back!!! It keeps teams guessing.... It's all about option's seeing so many teams are starting to double up on him. To allow him to go to left back would be a great option but that doesn't mean he'll stay there.