Champions League/Domestic league question

Discussion in 'Europa League Discussions' started by StPaulSpur, Mar 12, 2011.

1. StPaulSpur Well-Known Member

StPaulSpur
    Ratings:
    +1,690 / 0 / -0
    So as I've said before, I'm still a relative newbie to European football. This is my 2nd year of following it and I've picked up a lot but there's still a lot for me to learn. One thing that has caught my eye this year is that Schalke - now a final 8 in the CL - is also in a relegation battle in the Bundesliga (now they look like they'll be safe but for awhile it was sketchy). Meanwhile, also in the Bundesliga, Werder is out of the CL and also in serious danger of relegation.

This made me wonder: Has a team ever competed in the CL (or European Cup) in the same year that they were relegated in their domestic league. If so, what's the furthest a team has advanced in Europe during a season that ended with domestic relegation? I know Pompey managed the FA Cup final last year when relegated, but has anyone managed the continental equivalent? (Perhaps we just need to send Avram Grant to an overachieving German, Spanish, or Italian club that qualifies for the CL and make it happen... ;) )
  2. XRated Well-Known Member

XRated
    Ratings:
    +173 / 0 / -0
    In 2002/03 Celta Vigo finished 4th in Spain and qualified for the Champions League, in 2003/04 Celta Vigo made it to the last 16 of the Champions League but finished 19th in Spain and were relegated.
  3. weirddave hey you guys

weirddave
    Ratings:
    +2,311 / 2 / -0
    FC Porto were not exactly the favourites to win when Mourinho was there, but he did it.
  4. perstrame Well-Known Member

perstrame
    Ratings:
    +567 / 0 / -0
    My dad was telling me about Ipswich getting relegated but winning the FA Cup. The next season they played in the, now known as, Europa League. Don't know how well they did though.
  5. Tottenham94 New Member

Tottenham94
    Ratings:
    +49 / 0 / -0